You are here

Graduate Degrees

With your passion for knowledge and excitement for exploring the unknown, earning your master’s or doctoral degree is the next step in your career or scholarly pursuits.

Our graduate programs hone your professional skills while challenging you to think critically and to do research. We offer degrees and certificates in disciplines that span the arts, liberal arts, sciences, education, and more. A number of our graduate programs offer online components to fit your busy life and schedule—a few are even offered exclusively online.

In grad school, you will master the tools you need to succeed while increasing your earning potential. We offer opportunities for our students to ensure they have the means and funds to complete their programs through assistantships and fellowships. Learn more about available financial support.

But most of all, we’re here to help you pursue your passion, so you can learn more than you ever imagined. Apply today or contact us with questions.

Graduate Program Application Requirements and Deadlines at a Glance

While the Graduate School requires a number of items for admission, some of our programs request additional supplemental items and have different application deadlines. The program table below outlines each department’s program-specific materials and deadlines (if any). You’ll also find contact information for your graduate coordinator, who is a great resource for specific funding and departmental questions.

TAKE CARE ALSO TO REVIEW THE COVID-19 "FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS" FOR GRAD SCHOOL APPLICANTS FOR ADDITIONAL GUIDANCE.

 

Graduate Program Graduate Coordinator Additional Application Materials Required Application Deadlines
(if different than Graduate School deadlines)

Accounting (M.S.)

Professor Pam Meyer (mastersaccounting@louisiana.edu)
  • Resume
  • GMAT Required (may be waived for applicants with an undergraduate GPA of 3.0 or higher)
  • Statement of Purpose
Applied Language and Speech Sciences (Ph.D.) Dr. Ryan Nelson (rnelson@louisiana.edu)
  • Fall: February 1
  • Spring: September 1
Architecture (M.Arch.) Professor Ashlie Latiolais (alatiolais@louisiana.edu)  
Athletic Training (M.S.) Dr. Jeremy Foreman
(jeremy.foreman@louisiana.edu)
  • Applications will soon open for Summer 2021 admission. Please check back for more information.
  • April 30
  • Admits only for Summer
Biology (M.S.) Applications: Dr. Scott France (france@louisiana.edu)

Post-Admissions: Dr. Brad Moon (brad.moon@louisiana.edu)

  • Fall: February 1
  • Spring: October 1
Biology, Environmental & Evolutionary (Ph.D.) Applications: Dr. Scott France (france@louisiana.edu)

Post-Admissions: Dr. Brad Moon (brad.moon@louisiana.edu)

  • Fall: February 1
  • Spring: October 1
Business Administration (Graduate Certificate) P. Robert Viguerie, J.D.
(MBADirector@louisiana.edu)
  • Statement of purpose
 
Business Administration (M.B.A.) P. Robert Viguerie, J.D.
(MBADirector@louisiana.edu)
Cardiovascular Nursing (Graduate Certificate) Dr. Jennifer Lemoine
(jennifer.lemoine@louisiana.edu)
  • Resume
  • Unencumbered Louisiana RN license
  • Two letters of recommendation
  • No GRE Required
  • February 4
  • Admits only for Spring B Term
Chemical Engineering (M.S.E.) Dr. William Chirdon
(wmc8199@louisiana.edu)
 
Civil Engineering (M.S.E.) Dr. Daniel Gang
(ddgang@louisiana.edu)
 
Communication (M.S.) Dr. Phil Auter
(auter@louisiana.edu)
  • Writing sample
  • No GRE Required
 
Computer Science (M.S.) Dr. Anthony Maida
(asm6678@louisiana.edu)
  • Statement of Purpose
  • GRE Required
 
Computer Engineering (M.S.) Dr. Anthony Maida
(asm6678@louisiana.edu)
  • Statement of Purpose
  • GRE Required
 
Computer Science & Computer Engineering (Ph.D.) Dr. Anthony Maida
(asm6678@louisiana.edu)
  • Statement of Purpose
  • GRE Required
  • Summer: April 1
  • Fall: May 1
  • Spring: November 15
Counselor Education (M.S.) Dr. Irvin Esters
(esters@louisiana.edu
  • Statement of Purpose
  • Resume
  • Interview
  • GRE Required
  • March 31
  • Admits only for Fall Semester
Criminal Justice (M.S.) Dr. Michelle Jeanis
(mjeanis@louisiana.edu)
 
Doctor of Education in Educational Leadership (Ed.D.) Dr. Dianne Olivier
(dolivier@louisiana.edu)
 
Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) Dr. Roger Rholdon
(roger.rholdon@louisiana.edu)
  • Post-MSN: May 1
  • BSN-DNP: November 30
  • Post-MSN admits only for Fall Semester
  • BSN-DNP admits only for Spring Semester
Earth & Energy Sciences (Ph.D.) Dr. Brian Schubert
(schubert@louisiana.edu)
  • Fall: February 1
  • Spring: October 1
Education (M.Ed.) - Educational Leadership Dr. Frank DelFavero
(fdelfavero@louisiana.edu)
  • Letter of application
  • Curriculum Vitae
  • Interview
  • Valid teaching certificate
  • One year of full-time teaching experience
  • No GRE Required
  • Admits only for Fall Semester

Education (M.Ed.) - Curriculum and Instruction

Dr. Toby Daspit
(tdaspit@louisiana.edu)
  • Valid teaching certificate
  • One year of full-time teaching experience (not required for online program)
  • No GRE Required
 
Education (M.Ed.) - Gifted Education Dr. Christine Briggs
(cbriggs@louisiana.edu)
  • Valid teaching certificate
  • One year of full-time teaching experience
  • No GRE Required
 
Electrical Engineering (M.S.E.) Dr. Zhongqi Pan
(zpan@louisiana.edu)
 

English (M.A.)

Incoming students: Dr. Leah Orr
Current students: Dr. Michele Feist


 

  • Statement of purpose
  • Graduate Assistantship App (If applying for funding)
  • Curriculum Vitae (CV)
  • Writing sample
  • No GRE Required
  • Fall: January 15
  • Spring: November 15
English (Ph.D.) Incoming students: Dr. Leah Orr
(leah.Orr@louisiana.edu)
Current students: Dr. Michele Feist
(feist@louisiana.edu)

 


 

  • Statement of purpose
  • Graduate assistantship application (if applying for funding)
  • Curriculum Vitae (CV)
  • Writing sample
  • No GRE Required
  • Fall: January 15
  • Spring: November 15
Entrée The Graduate School
(Gradschool@louisiana.edu)
  • Proof of bachelor’s degree
  • Online application
  • Application fee
 
Environmental Resource Science (M.S.) Dr. Durga Poudel
(ddpoudel@louisiana.edu)
  • GRE Required
 
Francophone Studies (Ph.D.) Dr. Loic Bourdeau
(loic.bourdeau@louisiana.edu)
  • No GRE Required
 
French (M.A.) Dr. Loic Bourdeau
(loic.bourdeau@louisiana.edu)
  • Statement of academic purpose
  • Writing sample (approx.. 30 pages total in French)
  • Audio recording (non-native French speakers only)
  • No GRE Required
 
Geology (M.S.)

Dr. Raphael Gottardi
(gottardi@louisiana.edu)

 

 
Health Care Administration (Post-MBA Graduate Certificate) P. Robert Viguerie, J.D.
(MBADirector@louisiana.edu)
  • Statement of purpose
  • Resume
  • GMAT Required
  • If an applicant obtained an MBA degree from an institution that did not require the GMAT or GRE, the student may be required to take the GMAT or GRE.
  • Fall: June 30
  • Spring: November 30
  • Summer: April 30
History (M.A.) Dr. Richard Frankel
(frankel@louisiana.edu)
  • Statement of purpose
  • Writing sample
  • No GRE Required
 
Industrial Chemistry (M.S.)
Dr. August Gallo
  • GRE Required
  • Admits for Fall and Spring semesters
Informatics (M.S.) Dr. Mike Totaro
(miket@louisiana.edu)
  • Completion (with a grade of C or better) of pre-calculus, survey of calculus, and statistics
  • GRE Required
 
Instructional Coach (Graduate Certificate) Dr. Toby Daspit
(tdaspit@louisiana.edu)
  • Valid teaching certificate
 
Kinesiology (M.S.) Dr. Jeremy Foreman
(jeremy.foreman@louisiana.edu)
  • Interview with selection committee (upon request)
  • No GRE Required
 
Master of Arts in Teaching (M.A.T.) - Elementary Education

Dr. Michelle Haj-Broussard (hajbroussard@louisiana.edu)

  • Passing PRAXIS, ACT, or SAT pre-professional basic skills test scores
  • Passing PRAXIS score in the appropriate content area to your degree
  • GRE requirement temporarily suspended (waiver may be available for applicants with an undergraduate GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale who submit a 500+ word essay).
  • Admits only for the Summer semester
Master of Arts in Teaching (M.A.T.) - Elementary French Immersion Dr. Michelle Haj-Broussard (hajbroussard@louisiana.edu)
  • Demonstration of an intermediate-high level of French proficiency
  • Passing PRAXIS, ACT, or SAT pre-professional basic skills test scores
  • Passing PRAXIS score in the appropriate content area to your degree
  • GRE requirement temporarily suspended(waiver may be available for applicants with an undergraduate GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale who submit a 500+ word essay).
  • Admits only for the Summer semester

Master of Arts in Teaching (M.A.T.) - Special Education

Dr. Donna Wadsworth
(dew4067@louisiana.edu)
 
Master's +30 The Graduate School
(Gradschool@louisiana.edu)
  • Proof of master’s degree
  • Online application
  • Application fee
 
Mathematics (M.S.) Dr. Ping Wong Ng
(png@louisiana.edu)
 
Mathematics (Ph.D.) Dr. Ping Wong Ng
(png@louisiana.edu)
 
Mechanical Engineering (M.S.E.) Dr. Jim Lee
(jlee@louisiana.edu)
 
Music (M.M.) Dr. Catherine Roche-Wallace
(roche-wallace@louisiana.edu)
  • Audition for applied areas
  • Audio recording (upon request)
  • Scholarly paper or scores (theory/comp concentration)
  • Preliminary exam in music theory and history (upon admission)
  • No GRE Required
 
Nursing (M.S.N.) Dr. Jennifer Lemoine
(jennifer.lemoine@louisiana.edu)
  • Resume
  • Unencumbered Louisiana RN license
  • No GRE Required
  • Applications are considered year-round for Fall and Spring semesters.
  • Admission is offered to only a limited number of students each semester.
  • You are encouraged to apply well in advance of your desired semester of admission.
Physics (M.S.) Dr. Gabriele Morra
(morra@louisiana.edu)
 
Petroleum Engineering (M.S.E.) Dr. Boyun Guo
(boyun.guo@louisiana.edu)
 
Professional Writing (Graduate Certificate) Dr. Michele Feist
(feist@louisiana.edu)
  • Statement of purpose
 
Psychology (M.S.) Dr. Emily Sandoz
(eek2950@louisiana.edu)
  • March 1
  • Admits only for the Fall semester
Speech Pathology & Audiology (Communicative Disorders M.S.) Dr. Holly Damico
(hollydamico@louisiana.edu)
  • February 15
  • Admits only for the Summer semester
Systems Engineering (Ph.D.) Dr. Jim Lee
(jlee@louisiana.edu)
 
Systems Technology (M.S.) Dr. Gholam Massiha
(massiha@louisiana.edu)
 
TESOL (Graduate Certificate) Dr. Michele Feist
(feist@louisiana.edu)