You are here

Graduate Degrees

With your passion for knowledge and excitement for exploring the unknown, earning your master’s or doctoral degree is the next step in your career or scholarly pursuits.

Our graduate programs hone your professional skills while challenging you to think critically and to do research. We offer degrees and certificates in disciplines that span the arts, liberal arts, sciences, education, and more. A number of our graduate programs offer online components to fit your busy life and schedule—a few are even offered exclusively online.

In grad school, you will master the tools you need to succeed while increasing your earning potential. We offer opportunities for our students to ensure they have the means and funds to complete their programs through assistantships and fellowships. Learn more about available financial support.

But most of all, we’re here to help you pursue your passion, so you can learn more than you ever imagined. Apply today or contact us with questions.

Graduate Programs at a Glance

While the Graduate School requires a number of items for admission, some of our programs request additional supplemental items and have different application deadlines. The program table below outlines each department’s program-specific materials and deadlines (if any). You’ll also find contact information for your graduate coordinator, who is a great resource for specific funding and departmental questions.

 

Graduate Program Graduate Coordinator Additional Application Materials Required Application Deadlines
(if different than Graduate School deadlines)

Accounting (M.S.)

Professor Pam Meyer (mastersaccounting@louisiana.edu)
  • Resume
  • GMAT (waiver available for applicants with an undergraduate GPA in accounting of 3.25 or higher)
  • Statement of Purpose
 
Applied Language and Speech Sciences (Ph.D.) Dr. John Tetnowski (tetnowski@louisiana.edu)
  • Letter of Intent (and identification of mentor)
  • Writing Sample
  • Curriculum Vitae
  • Fall: February 1
  • Spring: September 1
Architecture (M.Arch.) Professor Kari Smith (kjs9673@louisiana.edu)
  • Portfolio of your work
 
Biology (M.S.) Applications: Dr. Scott France (france@louisiana.edu)

Post-Admissions: Dr. Brad Moon (brad.moon@louisiana.edu)

  • Graduate Assistant Application
  • Resume or Curriculum Vitae
  • Thesis track applicants must identify advisor
  • Fall: February 1
  • Spring: October 1
Biology, Environmental & Evolutionary (Ph.D.) Applications: Dr. Scott France (france@louisiana.edu)

Post-Admissions: Dr. Brad Moon (brad.moon@louisiana.edu)

  • Graduate Assistantship Application
  • Resume or Curriculum Vitae
  • Identification of advisor
  • Fall: February 1
  • Spring: October 1
Business Administration (Graduate Certificate) P. Robert Viguerie, J.D.
(MBADirector@louisiana.edu)
  • Statement of purpose
 
Business Administration (M.B.A.) P. Robert Viguerie, J.D.
(MBADirector@louisiana.edu)
  • GMAT (waiver available for some applicants)
Chemical Engineering (M.S.E.) Dr. William Chirdon
(wmc8199@louisiana.edu)
  • GRE waiver available for applicants who graduated from UL Lafayette in Engineering with a minimum GPA requirement
 
Civil Engineering (M.S.E.) Dr. Daniel Gang
(ddgang@louisiana.edu)
  • GRE waiver available for applicants who graduated from UL Lafayette in Engineering with a minimum GPA requirement
 
Communication (M.S.) Dr. Phil Auter
(auter@louisiana.edu)
  • Writing sample
 
Computer Science (M.S.) Dr. Anthony Maida
(asm6678@louisiana.edu)
  • Statement of Purpose
 
Computer Engineering (M.S.) Dr. Anthony Maida
(asm6678@louisiana.edu)
  • Statement of Purpose
 
Computer Science & Computer Engineering (Ph.D.) Dr. Anthony Maida
(asm6678@louisiana.edu)
  • Statement of Purpose
  • Summer: April 1
  • Fall: May 1
  • Spring: November 15
Counselor Education (M.S.) Dr. Irvin Esters
(esters@louisiana.edu
  • Statement of Purpose
  • Resume
  • Interview
  • March 31
  • Admits only for Fall Semester
Criminal Justice (M.S.) Dr. Ami Stearns
(aes6979@louisiana.edu)
  • Personal statement on why you want to study criminal justice (no more than 750 words)
 
Doctor of Education in Educational Leadership (Ed.D.) Dr. Dianne Olivier
(dolivier@louisiana.edu)
  • Letter of interest
  • Curriculum Vitae
  • Interview
 
Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) Dr. Jennifer Lemoine
(DNP@louisiana.edu)
  • May 1
  • Admits only for Fall Semester
Education (M.Ed.) - Educational Leadership Dr. Frank DelFavero
(fdelfavero@louisiana.edu)
  • Letter of application
  • Curriculum Vitae
  • Interview
  • Valid teaching certificate
  • One year of full-time teaching experience
 

Education (M.Ed.) - Curriculum and Instruction

Dr. Peter Sheppard
(psheppard@louisiana.edu)
  • Valid teaching certificate
  • One year of full-time teaching experience (not required for online program)
  • GRE waiver available for applicants with an undergraduate GPA of 3.2 or higher
 
Education (M.Ed.) - Gifted Education Dr. Christine Briggs
(cbriggs@louisiana.edu)
  • Valid teaching certificate
  • One year of full-time teaching experience
 
Electrical Engineering (M.S.E.) Dr. Zhongqi Pan
(zpan@louisiana.edu)
  • GRE waiver available for applicants who graduated from UL Lafayette in Engineering with a GPA of 3.5 or higher
 

English (M.A.)

Admissions: Dr. Elizabeth Bobo
(elizabeth.bobo@louisiana.edu)

Post-Admissions: Dr. Laurel Ryan
(laurel.ryan@louisiana.edu)

  • Statement of purpose
  • Graduate Assistantship App (If applying for funding)
  • Curriculum Vitae (CV)
  • Writing sample
 
English (Ph.D.) Dr. Elizabeth Bobo
(elizabeth.bobo@louisiana.edu)
  • Statement of purpose
  • Graduate assistantship application (if applying for funding)
  • Curriculum Vitae (CV)
  • Writing sample
 
Entrée The Graduate School
(Gradschool@louisiana.edu)
  • Proof of bachelor’s degree
  • Online application
  • Application fee
 
Environmental Resource Science (M.S.) Dr. Durga Poudel
(ddpoudel@louisiana.edu)
   
Francophone Studies (Ph.D.) Dr. Loic Bourdeau
(loic.bourdeau@louisiana.edu)
   
French (M.A.) Dr. Loic Bourdeau
(loic.bourdeau@louisiana.edu)
  • Statement of academic purpose
  • Writing sample (approx.. 30 pages total in French)
  • Audio recording (non-native French speakers only)
 
Geology (M.S.)

Admissions:
Dr. Raphael Gottardi
(rxg0121@louisiana.edu)

 

Post-Admissions:
Dr. Brian Schubert
(bas9777@louisiana.edu)

   
Health Care Administration (Post-MBA Graduate Certificate) P. Robert Viguerie, J.D.
(MBADirector@louisiana.edu)
  • Statement of purpose
  • Resume
  • GMAT (May be waived dependent on GPA)
  • Fall: June 30
  • Spring: November 30
  • Summer: April 30
Historic Preservation (Graduate Certificate) Dr. Mark Rees
(rees@louisiana.edu)
  • Statement of purpose
 
History (M.A.) Dr. Robin Hermann
(rhermann@louisiana.edu)
  • Statement of purpose
  • Writing sample
 
Informatics (M.S.) Dr. Mike Totaro
(miket@louisiana.edu)
  • Completion (with a grade of C or better) of pre-calculus, survey of calculus, and statistics
 
Instructional Coach (Graduate Certificate) Dr. Peter Sheppard
(psheppard@louisiana.edu)
  • Valid teaching certificate
 
Kinesiology (M.S.) Dr. Greggory Davis
(gdavis@louisiana.edu)
  • Interview with selection committee (upon request)
 

Master of Arts in Teaching (M.A.T.)

Dr. Donna Wadsworth
(dew4067@louisiana.edu)
  • Passing PRAXIS, ACT, or SAT pre-professional basic skills test scores
  • Passing PRAXIS score in the appropriate content area to your degree
 
Master's +30 The Graduate School
(Gradschool@louisiana.edu)
  • Proof of master’s degree
  • Online application
  • Application fee
 
Mathematics (M.S.) Dr. Arturo Magidin
(GradMath@louisiana.edu)
   
Mathematics (Ph.D.) Dr. Arturo Magidin
(GradMath@louisiana.edu)
   
Mechanical Engineering (M.S.E.) Dr. Charles Taylor
(ctaylor@louisiana.edu)
   
Music (M.M.) Dr. Catherine Roche-Wallace
(roche-wallace@louisiana.edu)
  • Audition for applied areas
  • Audio recording (upon request)
  • Scholarly paper or scores (theory/comp concentration)
  • Preliminary exam in music theory and history (upon admission)
 
Non-Public Schools: Administration (Graduate Certificate) Dr. Paula Montgomery
(pmontgomery@louisiana.edu)
   
Nursing (M.S.N.) Dr. Helen Hurst
(helenhurst@louisiana.edu)
  • Resume
  • Unencumbered Louisiana RN license
  • One year of nursing practice
  • Fall: May 1
  • Spring: November 1
Physics (M.S.) Dr. Gabriela Petculescu
(gp@louisiana.edu)
   
Petroleum Engineering (M.S.E.) Dr. Boyun Guo
(boyun.guo@louisiana.edu)
  • GRE waiver available for applicants who graduated from UL Lafayette in Engineering with a minimum GPA requirement
 
Professional Writing (Graduate Certificate) Dr. Randy Gonzales
(randy.gonzales@louisiana.edu)
  • Statement of purpose
 
Psychology (M.S.) Dr. Emily Sandoz
(eek2950@louisiana.edu)
  • Statement of purpose
  • March 1
  • Admits only for the Fall semester
Speech Pathology & Audiology (Communicative Disorders M.S.) Dr. Nancye Roussel
(ncroussel@louisiana.edu)
  • Letter of reference requirement waived for graduates of UL Lafayette who meet all other admission requirements
  • February 15
  • Admits only for the Summer semester
Systems Engineering (Ph.D.) Dr. Jim Lee
(jlee@louisiana.edu)
  • Resume
 
Systems Technology (M.S.) Dr. Gholam Massiha
(massiha@louisiana.edu)
   
TESOL (Graduate Certificate) Dr. Mark Honneger
(honneger@louisiana.edu)