You are here

Graduate Degrees

With your passion for knowledge and excitement for exploring the unknown, earning your master’s or doctoral degree is the next step in your career or scholarly pursuits.

Our graduate programs hone your professional skills while challenging you to think critically and to do research. We offer degrees and certificates in disciplines that span the arts, liberal arts, sciences, education, and more. A number of our graduate programs offer online components to fit your busy life and schedule—a few are even offered exclusively online.

In grad school, you will master the tools you need to succeed while increasing your earning potential. We offer opportunities for our students to ensure they have the means and funds to complete their programs through assistantships and fellowships. Learn more about available financial support.

But most of all, we’re here to help you pursue your passion, so you can learn more than you ever imagined. Apply today or contact us with questions.

Graduate Program Application Requirements and Deadlines at a Glance

While the Graduate School requires a number of items for admission, some of our programs request additional supplemental items and have different application deadlines. The program table below outlines each department’s program-specific materials and deadlines (if any). You’ll also find contact information for your graduate coordinator, who is a great resource for specific funding and departmental questions.

 

Graduate Program Graduate Coordinator Additional Application Materials Required Application Deadlines
(if different than Graduate School deadlines)

Accounting (M.S.)

Professor Pam Meyer (mastersaccounting@louisiana.edu)
  • Resume
  • GMAT Required (waived for applicants with a cumulative GPA in accounting of 3.0 or higher)
  • Statement of Purpose
 
Applied Language and Speech Sciences (Ph.D.) Dr. John Tetnowski (tetnowski@louisiana.edu)
  • Letter of Intent (and identification of mentor)
  • Writing Sample
  • Curriculum Vitae
  • GRE Required
  • Fall: February 1
  • Spring: September 1
Architecture (M.Arch.) Professor Kari Smith (kjs9673@louisiana.edu)
  • Portfolio of your work
  • GRE Required
 
Biology (M.S.) Applications: Dr. Scott France (france@louisiana.edu)

Post-Admissions: Dr. Brad Moon (brad.moon@louisiana.edu)

  • Graduate Assistant Application
  • Resume or Curriculum Vitae
  • Thesis track applicants must identify advisor
  • GRE Required
  • Fall: February 1
  • Spring: October 1
Biology, Environmental & Evolutionary (Ph.D.) Applications: Dr. Scott France (france@louisiana.edu)

Post-Admissions: Dr. Brad Moon (brad.moon@louisiana.edu)

  • Graduate Assistantship Application
  • Resume or Curriculum Vitae
  • Identification of advisor
  • GRE Required
  • Fall: February 1
  • Spring: October 1
Business Administration (Graduate Certificate) P. Robert Viguerie, J.D.
(MBADirector@louisiana.edu)
  • Statement of purpose
 
Business Administration (M.B.A.) P. Robert Viguerie, J.D.
(MBADirector@louisiana.edu)
Chemical Engineering (M.S.E.) Dr. William Chirdon
(wmc8199@louisiana.edu)
  • GRE Required (waived for applicants who graduated from UL Lafayette in Engineering with a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher)
 
Civil Engineering (M.S.E.) Dr. Daniel Gang
(ddgang@louisiana.edu)
  • GRE Required (waived for applicants who graduated from UL Lafayette in Engineering with a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher)
 
Communication (M.S.) Dr. Phil Auter
(auter@louisiana.edu)
  • Writing sample
  • No GRE Required (Starting Fall 2019)
 
Computer Science (M.S.) Dr. Anthony Maida
(asm6678@louisiana.edu)
  • Statement of Purpose
  • GRE Required
 
Computer Engineering (M.S.) Dr. Anthony Maida
(asm6678@louisiana.edu)
  • Statement of Purpose
  • GRE Required
 
Computer Science & Computer Engineering (Ph.D.) Dr. Anthony Maida
(asm6678@louisiana.edu)
  • Statement of Purpose
  • GRE Required
  • Summer: April 1
  • Fall: May 1
  • Spring: November 15
Counselor Education (M.S.) Dr. Irvin Esters
(esters@louisiana.edu
  • Statement of Purpose
  • Resume
  • Interview
  • GRE Required
  • March 31
  • Admits only for Fall Semester
Criminal Justice (M.S.) Dr. Ami Stearns
(aes6979@louisiana.edu)
  • Personal Statement on why you want to study criminal justice (no more than 750 words)
  • GRE Required (waived for applicants who graduated from UL Lafayette with a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher)
 
Doctor of Education in Educational Leadership (Ed.D.) Dr. Dianne Olivier
(dolivier@louisiana.edu)
  • Letter of Interest
  • Curriculum Vitae
  • Interview
  • GRE Required
 
Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) Dr. Jeanne Cartier
(jeanne.cartier@louisiana.edu)
  • May 1
  • Admits only for Fall Semester
Education (M.Ed.) - Educational Leadership Dr. Frank DelFavero
(fdelfavero@louisiana.edu)
  • Letter of application
  • Curriculum Vitae
  • Interview
  • Valid teaching certificate
  • One year of full-time teaching experience
  • No GRE Required (Starting Fall 2019)
 

Education (M.Ed.) - Curriculum and Instruction

Dr. Peter Sheppard
(psheppard@louisiana.edu)
  • Valid teaching certificate
  • One year of full-time teaching experience (not required for online program)
  • No GRE Required (Starting Fall 2019)
 
Education (M.Ed.) - Gifted Education Dr. Christine Briggs
(cbriggs@louisiana.edu)
  • Valid teaching certificate
  • One year of full-time teaching experience
  • No GRE Required (Starting Fall 2019)
 
Electrical Engineering (M.S.E.) Dr. Zhongqi Pan
(zpan@louisiana.edu)
  • GRE Required (waived for applicants who graduated from UL Lafayette in Engineering with a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher)
 

English (M.A.)

Admissions: Dr. Elizabeth Bobo
(elizabeth.bobo@louisiana.edu)

Post-Admissions: Dr. Laurel Ryan
(laurel.ryan@louisiana.edu)

  • Statement of purpose
  • Graduate Assistantship App (If applying for funding)
  • Curriculum Vitae (CV)
  • Writing sample
  • No GRE Required (Starting Fall 2019)
  • Fall: January 15
  • Spring: November 15
English (Ph.D.) Dr. Elizabeth Bobo
(elizabeth.bobo@louisiana.edu)
  • Statement of purpose
  • Graduate assistantship application (if applying for funding)
  • Curriculum Vitae (CV)
  • Writing sample
  • No GRE Required (Starting Fall 2019)
  • Fall: January 15
  • Spring: November 15
Entrée The Graduate School
(Gradschool@louisiana.edu)
  • Proof of bachelor’s degree
  • Online application
  • Application fee
 
Environmental Resource Science (M.S.) Dr. Durga Poudel
(ddpoudel@louisiana.edu)
  • GRE Required
 
Francophone Studies (Ph.D.) Dr. Loic Bourdeau
(loic.bourdeau@louisiana.edu)
  • No GRE Required
 
French (M.A.) Dr. Loic Bourdeau
(loic.bourdeau@louisiana.edu)
  • Statement of academic purpose
  • Writing sample (approx.. 30 pages total in French)
  • Audio recording (non-native French speakers only)
  • No GRE Required
 
Geology (M.S.)

Admissions:
Dr. Raphael Gottardi
(rxg0121@louisiana.edu)

Post-Admissions:
Dr. Brian Schubert
(bas9777@louisiana.edu)

  • GRE Required
 
Health Care Administration (Post-MBA Graduate Certificate) P. Robert Viguerie, J.D.
(MBADirector@louisiana.edu)
  • Statement of purpose
  • Resume
  • If an applicant obtained an MBA degree from an institution that did not require the GMAT or GRE, the student will be required to take the GMAT or GRE.
  • Fall: June 30
  • Spring: November 30
  • Summer: April 30
Historic Preservation (Graduate Certificate) Dr. Mark Rees
(rees@louisiana.edu)
  • Statement of purpose
 
History (M.A.) Dr. Robin Hermann
(rhermann@louisiana.edu)
  • Statement of purpose
  • Writing sample
  • No GRE Required (Starting Fall 2019)
 
Informatics (M.S.) Dr. Mike Totaro
(miket@louisiana.edu)
  • Completion (with a grade of C or better) of pre-calculus, survey of calculus, and statistics
  • GRE Required
 
Instructional Coach (Graduate Certificate) Dr. Peter Sheppard
(psheppard@louisiana.edu)
  • Valid teaching certificate
 
Kinesiology (M.S.) Dr. Greggory Davis
(gdavis@louisiana.edu)
  • Interview with selection committee (upon request)
  • No GRE Required (Starting Fall 2019)
 

Master of Arts in Teaching (M.A.T.) - Special Education

Dr. Donna Wadsworth
(dew4067@louisiana.edu)
  • Passing PRAXIS, ACT, or SAT pre-professional basic skills test scores
  • Passing PRAXIS score in the appropriate content area to your degree
  • GRE Required
 
Master's +30 The Graduate School
(Gradschool@louisiana.edu)
  • Proof of master’s degree
  • Online application
  • Application fee
 
Mathematics (M.S.) Dr. Arturo Magidin
(GradMath@louisiana.edu)
  • GRE Required
 
Mathematics (Ph.D.) Dr. Arturo Magidin
(GradMath@louisiana.edu)
  • GRE Required
 
Mechanical Engineering (M.S.E.) Dr. Charles Taylor
(ctaylor@louisiana.edu)
  • GRE Required (waived for applicants who graduated from UL Lafayette in Engineering with a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher)
 
Music (M.M.) Dr. Catherine Roche-Wallace
(roche-wallace@louisiana.edu)
  • Audition for applied areas
  • Audio recording (upon request)
  • Scholarly paper or scores (theory/comp concentration)
  • Preliminary exam in music theory and history (upon admission)
  • No GRE Required (Starting Fall 2019)
 
Non-Public Schools: Administration (Graduate Certificate) Dr. Paula Montgomery
(pmontgomery@louisiana.edu)
   
Nursing (M.S.N.) Dr. Jennifer Lemoine
(jennifer.lemoine@louisiana.edu)
  • Resume
  • Unencumbered Louisiana RN license
  • One year of nursing practice
  • No GRE Required (Starting Fall 2019)
  • Fall: May 1
  • Spring: November 1
Physics (M.S.) Dr. Gabriela Petculescu
(gp@louisiana.edu)
  • GRE Required
 
Petroleum Engineering (M.S.E.) Dr. Boyun Guo
(boyun.guo@louisiana.edu)
  • GRE Required (waived for applicants who graduated from UL Lafayette in Engineering with a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher)
 
Professional Writing (Graduate Certificate) Dr. Randy Gonzales
(randy.gonzales@louisiana.edu)
  • Statement of purpose
 
Psychology (M.S.) Dr. Emily Sandoz
(eek2950@louisiana.edu)
  • Statement of purpose
  • GRE Required
  • March 1
  • Admits only for the Fall semester
Speech Pathology & Audiology (Communicative Disorders M.S.) Dr. Nancye Roussel
(ncroussel@louisiana.edu)
  • Personal Statement
  • GRE Required
  • Letter of reference requirement waived for graduates of UL Lafayette who meet all other admission requirements
  • February 15
  • Admits only for the Summer semester
Systems Engineering (Ph.D.) Dr. Jim Lee
(jlee@louisiana.edu)
  • Resume
  • GRE Required
 
Systems Technology (M.S.) Dr. Gholam Massiha
(massiha@louisiana.edu)
  • GRE Required (waived for applicants who graduated from UL Lafayette in Engineering with a cumulative GPA of 3.2 or higher)
 
TESOL (Graduate Certificate) Dr. Mark Honneger
(honneger@louisiana.edu)